W.T. Bathgate Rules

  1. 5 Man team. A draw for the preliminary and first round will be made by the Match Secretary at the Spring Meeting of the League. The dates for completion and result reporting of each round will be notified with the draw.
  2. Arranging a match: The home team will have the responsibility to contact their opponents and offer dates by no later than the date specified in the contact email. After that time, unless it can be shown that they have made reasonable efforts without success to contact their opponents, the choice of venue will pass to the away team. The club drawn at home should offer the away club several dates (A minimum of 3 including both weekdays and weekends) in order to provide the best opportunity of finding a mutually acceptable date. No match extensions will be allowed. If a match is not played by the date specified the Tournament Committee will decide, on the basis of availability which team will go through to the next round. 
  3. Teams: must be nominated in a 1-2-3-4-5 order for each match i.e. Competitor No. 1 of the home club must play competitor No. 1 of the visiting club. 2 plays No. 2 and so on
  4. Each round will be on a Knock-Out basis with each match consisting of five singles decided by handicap match play over 18 holes. A winning game will count as one point and a game that finishes all square after 18 holes will count as a half-point. In the event of a match being tied 2½ – 2½ after the completion of the final two-ball, the designated No. 5 player must play a sudden-death handicap match starting on the tee from where the original match began and continuing hole-by-hole until there is a result
  5. Handicap Allowance – Full difference
  6. Handicap restrictions – Max playing handicap of 18, any players with handicaps above this may still play but must play off a maximum course handicap of 18
  7. Any disputes regarding the listed Rules and Conditions can be discussed with the Tournament Committee, whose decision will be final. The Tournament Committee consists of Robert Jamieson (Dunstanburgh Castle), & Michael Arkle (Rothbury)