The NNGL operates 3 Divisions playing in Scratch Matchplay format. All Divisions playing on a home and away basis.

During the season there are 9 League Open Days, with teams of 8 players per Club playing in stableford format, competing for the Team Gross Trophy and Team Nett Trophy.

The President’s Bowl Trophy (the Individual League Championship) is played alongside the Alnwick Advertiser Trophy (nett) and Rothbury Trophy (team).

Starting in April/May all 18 teams are entered into a Knockout Cup competition, competing for the Glendale Cup.